Telling Friends About the Blog

Hee, hee. I wasn’t sure how many of my friends I wanted to share this with because, well I tend to start thinking about how stupid the whole thing could be perceived as but I hit the send button the other night and voila! I did it.

I did leave out an ex I am good friends with because, well he really does think this whole thing is stupid. So last night I was sitting at home after having dinner with S and started to have a craving for a malt from Bobbie’s Dairy Dip but then I started thinking about having to drive there (it takes really expensive gas you know) and had talked myself out of it.

Sidebar: Now since I have been hanging out with my mentor at work, Marti, she has been teaching me all sorts of bad habits, i.e. drinking too many Mohitos, shopping and getting the men in my life to basically wait on me hand and foot.

So I said to myself, “I will call ex M and bug him until he comes and gets me for a malt.” It worked, I whined and whined a bit more and then said come get me NOW because the place closes soon. Yes, I actually do that with him but the reality is, he owes me, more than he can ever repay me and it is not like I am making him pay for expensive stuff. . .We get to Bobbie’s and he realizes the kitchen is closed and gives me this look that says I am in trouble. He tells me to order and then I look at him and say but you are paying. Yep, this is the stuff that never would have happened years ago but he just looks at me, shrugs his shoulders and pulls out his money.

We sit down and wait for my name to be called and the convo goes like this:

me: So, I decided to start a blog.

ex M: A what?

me: A blog, you know, where you can write, share pictures, etc.

ex M: Why would you do that?

me: Well I always wanted to be a writer and since that didn’t work out I thought this would be the next best thing. I mean, this is one of the few things I do well.

ex M: What do you write about?

me: Well, I just started but I just published a piece about Nashville and the paps.

ex M: Huh? What the hell are you talking about Amy?

me: You know, since Keith, Nicole, Miley and crew have all been moving here we have had some paps come to town to try to get pictures. And well, we all know that those who live here could give a shit about the famous people. . .

ex M: Huh? Who cares?

me: Well, actually I was talking to friends awhile back and we had this same conversation about how we didn’t care who was in front of us at Starbucks, we just wanted to get our coffee and get out the door.

ex M: Whatever

me: I think I am going to write about you though. . .

ex M: WHAT!?

me: I’ll change the names to protect the not so innocent. . .

I think he might be a little worried now because hey I have a ton of dirt on him and that in itself could be a novel. Think of it as a how not to be in a relationship.

Other than his reaction (and no, I haven’t told current bf about this) I think everyone else is cool with it. Poor guy, after the past couple of weeks he thought he was in the clear and now I told him I am so putting him in my blog.

3 responses to “Telling Friends About the Blog

  1. Blah ha ha (that’s supposed to be my evil laugh, just so you know)…. pay back is a be-atch!

  2. So true and the look on his face was priceless when I told him about it!

  3. Ahh he’ll live! He definitely owes you. I’d say a published book about your experience that pays you dividends would be payment enough……..for now! Tell him to bite you next time! =) (or tell him I said so) hee hee

Leave a Reply

